California  |  Immigration Law

question bubble
4/27/09, 5:12 pm

Legal Question


can a E2 visa holder work after applying for the green card through marriage?

I am an Italian citizen and I have had an E2 visa since 2005, expiring in 2010. I've been an employee of my own consulting business, and regularly paid.

I got married a few months ago and I just applied for the green card through marriage. The application included the i-485 form to adjust my status and become a permanent resident. My understanding is that with this application I'm no longer under the E-2 visa.

Can I still be employed and paid by my company before I receive the working permit?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search