California | Immigration Law
11/07/09, 2:55 pm
Legal Question
I am Egyptian and I am studying in USA on JV1 Visa can my friend sponsor me after my visa expires
I am Egyptian and I am studying in USA on JV1 Visa can my friend sponsor me after my visa expires
|
Read More Answered By: Charles Medina |
Do you mean you are in J-1 visa since there is no JV1 visa?
We suggest you to consult with an immigration attorney.
You may visit our website at www.medinalawgroup.net or contact us via inquiry@medinalawgroup.net. Thank you.
The above reply is for informational purposes only and not for the purpose of providing legal advice. You should contact an attorney to obtain advice with respect to any particular issue or problem. Use of and access to this Web site does not create an attorney-client relationship.
|
|
Read More Answered By: Luba Smal |
What do you mean: a fried sponsor you? Could you please clarify your question: what visa or status your friend intends to petition you for?; and what is your relationship?
Do you have a 2-year home residency requirement attached to your J-1 visa? When your J-1 program ends, and what kind of program is that?
If you’d like to schedule a telephone legal consultation, please let me know, and I’d be glad to help and advise you: Attorney [@] law-visa-usa.com
Note: The above response is provided for legal information purposes only and should not be considered as legal advice. This response doesn’t create an attorney-client relationship, which can only be established through payment of a fee. If a follow-up advice on your specific situation and regarding U.S.A. immigration-related issues is requested, we can offer a paid consultation by telephone or email to clients from all States and globally. Please visit our website http://www.law-visa-usa.com/contact_us.html for more details. Our contact email address is Attorney [@] law-visa-USA.com
|
|
Read More Answered By: Alice Yardum-Hunter |
It would depend on a couple of things:
1. In what capacity would your friend sponsor you? As an employer? Petitions can be filed by employers and close family relatives (spouses, parents, children who are U.S. citizens and in some cases, permanent residents). Friends as such don't qualify.
2. Are you subject to the two year home residence requirement? If you are, then you'd need to qualify for a very special status in order to not have to go home first. Also, if you are, to get most other statuses, including green card, you have to get a waiver of this requirement.
For more information, contact me at 818 609 1953 or alice@yardum-hunter.com.
The above is only for information, is not legal advice and doesn't form an attorney client relationship. For that to happen, you would need to formally hire me and we would clearly agree in writing as to what you would expect and what I could provide you.
Sincerely,
|
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 899
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-09-30
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 660
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-07
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 560
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 538
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-12
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 357
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Seattle,
Questions Answered: 296
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 292
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Buena Park, CA
Questions Answered: 281
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 255
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-09
► We have an employee arrested 2 times for dui and has been in the county since 1991...
► I am a conditional green card holder and it expires on 12/22/2010. Yesterday...
► I came in the US with a tourist visa. Now, my visa & I-94 are expired. What's...
► My name is Yessica, I entered the United States from Mexico when I was 9 years old....
► Can a condition of a green card be removed without a divorced woman's ex-husband's...
► My son was waiting with me under the law 245i to become a permanent resident when I...
► I am on H1B. I got laid off and my last employment date was on oct 5th. I found a...
More Immigration Law questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press