California | Immigration Law
Legal Question
F-1 married a resident alien
i have an F1 visa and i married a resident alien. What is the best way for me to change my status?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Antonio Maldonado |
Re: F-1 married a resident alien You can't. Only an immediate relative can Adjust Status to Legal Permanent Residence. A spouse of a US Citizen (USC) is a inmediate relative. A spouse of a Legal Permanent Resident (LPR) is not an immediate relative. A spouse of an LPR is in the 2A family sponsored preference category. In order for you to Adjust Status in the US the priority date of your category must be current. The current August 2004 DOS Visa bulletin states that those that had their immigrant petition filed before April 15 2000 have current priority dates. Chances are you will have to Consular Process an Immigrant Visa. You can expect to wait four or more years to get your immigrant visa. This can be expedited by having your spouse naturalize to acquire USC. At that point you will have more options available. You can contact me if you want a through analysis of your immigration situation. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Law Office of Larry L. Doan
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 899
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-09-30
Law Offices of Armen M. Tashjian
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 660
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-07
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Law Offices of Michael S. Cho
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 560
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Law Office of Joseph La Costa
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 538
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-12
Ajay K. Arora, Attorney-at-Law, P.C.
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 357
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Rebecca White
Seattle,
Questions Answered: 296
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 292
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Office of Charles Medina
Buena Park, CA
Questions Answered: 281
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Law Offices of Seeta Nangia
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 255
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-09
Search Questions and Answers


