California  |  Immigration Law

question bubble
4/10/03, 7:13 pm

Legal Question


Government enforcement of affidavit of support

I've been asked by a friend to be his joint-sponsor and sign an affidavit of support, the I-864, so he can receive residency through his wife. They don't make enough money. I understand that by signing I could be sued by the government if my friend receives public assistance in the future. There's a good chance my friend will actually apply for public assistance because they have 3 kids. Has any of you attorneys ever heard of the government actually suing in civil courts for reimbursement of this? Or, as I'm thinking, they're too busy with other things to file these suits.

Thank you.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search