California  |  Immigration Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 8/27/12, 2:13 pm

I'm a GreenCard holder, living in California for 3 years & 3 months now. My fiance has a B1-B2 Visa, & he intends to come and visit me soon. What should I do to keep him here with me without going back? I need the Best solutions! Can we get married here? & Can I file for him later? Or What other options do we have? Please Advise. Thanks in Advance.

3 Answers


Answered on: 8/27/12, 2:16 pm by Rebecca White

You need to determine how long it will be before you can file for US citizenship, and if he will qualify for either a student or work visa during the time gap.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Rebecca White Seattle, WA 98154

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 8/27/12, 3:20 pm by Joseph La Costa

You could get married and file the spouse petition only. However, he will not be eligible for green card until thee priority dates are current. He could get work visa or student visa. Please call our office to discuss the various options at 619-922-5287 or 619-501-1616.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Joseph La Costa, Attorney at Law 7840 Mission Center Court Ste. 104 San Diego, CA 92108

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 8/27/12, 4:50 pm by Seeta Nangia

Your fiance should not come here on a visitor visa with the intent of getting married to you. He could be charged with having preconceived intent and have problems obtaining lawful permanent status. If you are eligible, you should become a U.S. Citizen. Once you are a U.S. Citizen, you can apply for your fiance to come in on a fiance visa, or get married and then have him come here on an immigrant visa. Please feel free to contact me with any additional questions.

Seeta L. Nangia, Esq.

Law Offices of Seeta Nangia

Exclusively Practicing Immigration Law

Phone: (415) 273-9123

Email: seeta@nangialaw.com

Website: www.nangialaw.com


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of Seeta Nangia 567 Sutter Street San Francisco, CA 94102

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

125 Answers given in the last few hours.

8663 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search