Re: What happends if you marry on a tourist visa?
It's important to have temporary intention when visiting the U.S. This is not difficult to prove in many cases as those betrothed can have various plans, one of which is legitimate visiting. Rarely is this an issue when a spouse of a U.S. citizen marries with a tourist visa, however there is a possibility of issues. I've handled thousands of cases over 30 years whereby an alien secures permanent residence through marriage to a U.S. citizen. Don't fear being deported. I've never seen that happen with the facts you present. In all likelihood he could process the case within the U.S., obtain employment authorization
, and depending on whether and when his status expires/expired, he can also get a permit to travel while the case is pending.
If he's not here yet, and he is certain to apply for permanent residence, there are other options as well, depending on whether he might first qualify for a temporary work visa, a fiance visa or process for the green card from abroad.
For more information, write to me at alice@yardum-hunter.com or check me out at http://www.yardum-hunter.com.
Sincerely,
Alice M. Yardum-Hunter, Attorney at Law, Certified Specialist, Immigration & Nationality Law, State Bar of CA, Bd. of Legal Specialization