California  |  Immigration Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 8/08/09, 12:21 pm

hi,

how do i go about getting my grandfather a visa to visit california from mexico, on the christmas holiday?

i dont think he has ever been here in the U.S. before.

3 Answers


Answered on: 8/08/09, 3:33 pm by Larry L. Doan

He would have to apply for a tourist visa himself from the U.S. Consulate in Mexico. The only thing you can do to help is to vouch that you will have a place for him to stay while he is visiting and plans to take him around to visit. The application process is done in Mexico, and depends where he lives. It could be in Mexico City, Juarez, Tijuana, or a few other Mexican cities where there is a US consulate. He could look at the US Embassy website to start: http://mexico.usembassy.gov/smxvisitar.html

Larry L. Doan, Esq.

www.GuruImmigration.com

http://guruimmigration.wordpress.com (blog)

Note: The above response is provided for legal information only and should not be construed as legal advice, nor to create an attorney-client relationship, which can only be established through payment of consideration. We do not offer free advice except for the information provided herein on LawGuru which has been screened. If follow-up advice on your specific situation is desired, we offer a paid consultation in person if you are in the Los Angeles area, or by phone or email. Please visit our website www.GuruImmigration.com for more details.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Larry L. Doan 11664 National Blvd., Suite 317 Los Angeles, CA 90064

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 8/08/09, 3:34 pm by Luba Smal

Not you, but your grandfather needs to apply for a Visitor's visa at the nearest US Consulate in Mexico.

You can help him to complete the applications, write an invitation letter, etc. However, it's going to be HIS, not your application.

He will need to show that he does not intend to emigrate to USA and will return back home after a holiday visit to USA.

Good luck!

http://www.law-visa-usa.com


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Smal Immigration Law Office PO Box 540531 Omaha, NE 68154

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 8/08/09, 5:34 pm by David Nachman

He may be able to apply for a tourist visa at the U.S. Consulate Office with jurisdiction over his residence in Mexico. The B-2 visa is the tourist visa classification. He will need to demonstrate nonimmigrant intent under section 214(b) of the INA. For more information about Tourist Visa Applications or to speak to one of our lawyers, please e-mail to us at info@visaserve.com or visit us on the web at www.visaserve.com.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Nachman & Associates, P.C. VISASERVE PLAZA Ridgewood, NJ 07450

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

115 Answers given in the last few hours.

8662 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search