California  |  Immigration Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 6/11/13, 9:00 am

My husband got a Green Card 6 month ago. Now he is going to work for 1 year contract overseas. Does he loose his Green Card status and what to do to prevent that? Thank you.

3 Answers


Answered on: 6/11/13, 9:03 am by Michael Cho

He will want to file for a Re-entry permit so that he can preserve his permanent residence, in addition to maintaining as much "proof" of legal residence and life in the United States as possible during this period abroad.

Regards,

Michael Cho

Attorney & Counselor at Law

You may find me on the web at: http://www.msclaw.com

10940 Wilshire Boulevard, 16th Floor

Los Angeles, California 90024

Phone: 323.238.4620

Fax: 323.345.5477

Internet: http://www.msclaw.com


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of Michael Cho 10940 Wilshire Boulevard, 16th Floor Los Angeles, CA 90024

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 6/11/13, 10:02 am by Armen Tashjian

Green Card holders will be considered having abandoned their desire to be permanent resident if they leave the US for longer than 6 months.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of Armen M. Tashjian 6311 Wilshire Blvd., Second Floor Los Angeles, CA 90048

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 6/11/13, 11:19 am by Mercy Sequeira

Your husband can apply for a Re-entry permit.

I can be reached at mercy@mercylaw.com


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Mercy Sequeira 421 S. Sunnyvale Ave Sunyvale, CA 94086

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

70 Answers given in the last few hours.

86611 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search