California | Immigration Law
Legal Question
my husband is an immagrant and was arrested for assult for first time but did not hurt other person. what will the outcome be at the court?
my husband is an immagrant and was arrested for assult for first time but did not hurt other person. what will the outcome be at the court?
|
Read More Answered By: Larry L. Doan |
He will be treated and prosecuted in his criminal proceedings as any other person who is a citizen. He should have a good criminal defense attorney represent him in court. If the lawyer advises him to plead bargain to something, the lawyer should make sure it's not a felony, but only a misdemeanor. That will make it less likely that your husband will be picked up by Immigration afterward for removal (deportation) proceedings. There may be other things to watch out for and the criminal defense attorney should consult with an immigration attorney who is an expert in this area of criminal convictions affecting immigration status.
Larry L. Doan
www.GuruImmigration.com http://guruimmigration.wordpress.com (blog)
Note: The above response is provided for legal information only and should not be construed as legal advice, nor to create an attorney-client relationship, which can only be established through payment of consideration. We do not offer free advice except for the information provided herein on LawGuru which has been screened. If follow-up advice on your specific situation is desired, we offer a paid consultation in person if you are in the Los Angeles area, or by phone or email. Please visit our website www.GuruImmigration.com for more details.
|
|
Read More Answered By: John Gibson |
I agree with Mr. Doan. Further, the immigration issues he faces depend on if he is in this country legally or illegally. Obviously, an illegal immigrant will typically be deported after serving any time he is sentenced to. A legal immigrant (anybody in the US legally that is not a US citizen) needs to be very careful in what charges to plead to and what sentence to take.
I handle just these sort of case. If you need any more help please let me know. |
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 899
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-09-30
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 660
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-07
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 560
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 538
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-12
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 357
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Seattle,
Questions Answered: 296
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 292
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Buena Park, CA
Questions Answered: 281
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 255
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-09
► If someone has been deported is there a certain time frame that they have to wait in...
► If an immigrant goes to speak with a lawyer and they are not supposed to be here...
► My husband has an immigration case in NY. But we live in CA at the moment. He has a...
► The US citizen wife find out husband have a first wife from Dubai and he want a...
► Hi i have filed I130 for my wife and the california service center has received on...
► If the husband has a first wife in Dubai and he have a second wife in the US to get...
► I have been in the united state for 18 years. i am married to an american citizen,...
More Immigration Law questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press