California | Immigration Law
Legal Question
I-601 -- is a mistake?
I am a canadian citizen. In the past I visited usa with my passport (no visa required)several times, no crime commited nor overstayed ( all my vivits were last about 2 weeks). In my last visit to US, June 2002, I was inspected by an US officer at the Toronto airport before got on board. He issued me I-94, time length of 2 weeks. I was transferred at minnesota (no inspection), & arrived in sacramento, my terminal. Before expiration stated on I-94, I married a us citizen. My wife filed 485 & 130 for me. At the interview, ins officer asked me to file I-601, waiver for inadmissibitity as he said I were misrepresented at the port of entry (?) I still don't know why ? Is it a mistake? How can I find out ? Please help ?


