California | Immigration Law
Legal Question
If an immigrant that is married to an american citizen and has been deported before and divorces that american citizen would it be possible for him to remarry and apply for citizenship through the new wife?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Ellaine Loreto |
To clarify, only a legal permanent resident (green card holder) can apply for citizenship for himself/herself. I believe what you're talking about is a spouse filing an application for their spouse to get a green card.
If this is the case, it is possible for someone who was deported to apply for a green card, depending on the reasons of deporation. If the person has crimes, then this could prevent them from getting a green card. Depending on the crime or reason for deportation, a waiver application may available. A waiver is a request, asking the government to excuse certain crimes or deporations. Waivers may or may not be approved, since they are ultimately up to the officer reviewing the case to approve it. You should meet with an attorney to discuss these issues, as they can be complex.
To discuss your options further, kindly call me at my office located in Orange County in the city of Orange: 714 288 0610 or email me at ellaine@eloretolaw.com. Our offices offers a FREE initial consultation and payment plans. I look forward to speaking with you.
Note: The above response is provided for information purposes only and should not be construed as legal advice, nor to create an attorney-client relationship, which can only be established through payment of consideration. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Law Office of Larry L. Doan
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 899
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-09-30
Law Offices of Armen M. Tashjian
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 660
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-07
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Law Offices of Michael S. Cho
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 560
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Law Office of Joseph La Costa
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 538
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-12
Ajay K. Arora, Attorney-at-Law, P.C.
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 357
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Rebecca White
Seattle,
Questions Answered: 296
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 292
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Office of Charles Medina
Buena Park, CA
Questions Answered: 281
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Law Offices of Seeta Nangia
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 255
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-09
Search Questions and Answers


