California | Immigration Law
Legal Question
Status Adjustment.
Hi there,
I have just received a notification that I've been selected for further processing under the DV-2010 Visa Lottery program.
When I submitted the visa lottery form, I was in my home country but now I'm working under H1-B visa in the US. This notification form has been sent to my home country and has been forwarded to me in the US.
In the letter, there is a special instruction for people who reside in the US. The instruction basically indicates that I need to contact the USCIS and see if I'm eligible to change my status here. The problem is no USCIS contact
information is included and there is very little instructions on how to proceed. However, there is an address for me to mail in my filled out forms along with the payment.
Questions:
1) I would like to know what is the procedure for confirming whether I'm eligible or not by the USCIS.
2) Do you happen to have a phone number for USCIS office in Los Angeles or any other cities in California in which I can call to find out more information?
3) Do you think it's advisable for me to just mail in the filled out forms and payment to USCIS without contacting them?
4) Should I hire an attorney and let the attorney handle this case?
Thank you.


