California  |  Immigration Law

question bubble
11/13/09, 3:12 pm

Legal Question


My wife I have been living in this country for 21 years. Have a daughter, 18 and son, 14 born here. I have an approved petition from my u.s. citizen brother since July 2005.

After working for 14 years my wife told her employer about her situation. They are willing to help her if there is anything outhere. Can she get sponsorship through her job? Is there any help or law that would help us? Thanks.


question bubble
11/18/09, 3:35 pm

Legal Answer


If your sister's petition was filed before April 30, 2001 and you were married at that time, your wife might be qualified for 245 (i) protection.

If she has 245 (i) protection and her employer is willing to petition her, she might apply for green card throught employment-based petition.

We suggest you to consult with an immigration attorney.

You may visit our website at www.medinalawgroup.net or contact us via inquiry@medinalawgroup.net. Thank you.

The above reply is for informational purposes only and not for the purpose of providing legal advice. You should contact an attorney to obtain advice with respect to any particular issue or problem. Use of and access to this Web site does not create an attorney-client relationship.

Charles Medina

Law Office of Charles Medina 6281 Beach Blvd., Suite 325 Buena Park, CA 90621

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/18/09, 3:35 pm

Legal Answer


It sounds like you are waiting around for a visa number with respect to the approved I-130. Your wife can explore an employment-based petition in which you are a dependent beneficiary. There needs to be labor certification, etc. What type of work does your wife do? Please contact us.

Andrew Harrell

W. Andrew Harrell, Attorney at Law Suite 1108, 388 E. Ocean Blvd. Long Beach, CA 90802

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/18/09, 6:33 pm

Legal Answer


It sounds like you are 245i eligible, and if you were married at the time that your brother submitted the petition, then she may also have relief from your eligibility. Depending on the type of work that your wife does, they may be able to sponsor her in an employment-based petition. Among other things, part of the employment-based petition is filing a labor certification with the Department of Labor which would state that there are no other legal U.S. workers qualified to perform the job. You may contact this office to assist you with the employment-based green card process at 415-387-1364 or send email to: jenniferbrill@yahoo.com.

Jennifer Brill

Attorney address not available

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search