California | Insurance Law
Legal Question
Insurance coverage within common interest community
Our HOA has adopted new rules requiring proof of insurance for vehicles routinely housed within the community. The streets are not public but are owned and maintained by the HOA. It is our opinion that proof of insurance is needed to circumvent the occurrance of the owner/driver of the vehicle from having cancelled their insurance, after obtaining state registration tags, for many reasons; ie, save money, spite, etc.. It is further our position that your average automobile insurance policy does not cover accidents on private property. Our concern centers mainly in the realm of this 'uninsured' driver running over a small child and then the parents of the child goes after the HOA with a lawsuit. If the driver is required to have insurance, then the chances of this suit against the HOA might be prevented; hopefully. It's our understanding that many apartment complexes do require this as a normal occurrance.
Are we correct that the insurance does not cover instances that occur on private property? Comments/opinions appreciated.
Experienced California Attorneys
At the Law Offices of Eslamboly & Barlavi we handle most types of Personal Injury Cases and Tort cases including: automobile, truck, motorcycle, pedestrian, bike, and slip and fall accidents, dog bites, wrongful death, legal malpractice, medical malpractice and products liability cases. We only get paid if we recover compensation for you. Visit our website or call 1-800-LAW-TALK.


