California  |  Insurance Law

question bubble
5/17/02, 3:55 pm

Legal Question


Leaving out a kin in life insurance claim?

A parent died and left a life insurance policy with no beneficiary named. Their estate has already gone through probate, during which one of the children (all are adults) stole money from all the others (breached written contracts). They were going to sue that sibling to get their money back, but discovered a life insurance policy not reported during probate.(The one who stole from the others was the executor.) If the other children applied to get the life insurance policy money and left that one sibling off the application, and split that sibling's share, it would be almost enough to make up for what was stolen from them. What could happen legally to the siblings for doing this? The thief sibling is not aware of this policy. Does the insurance company care?


Experienced California Attorneys

At the Law Offices of Eslamboly & Barlavi we handle most types of Personal Injury Cases and Tort cases including: automobile, truck, motorcycle, pedestrian, bike, and slip and fall accidents, dog bites, wrongful death, legal malpractice, medical malpractice and products liability cases. We only get paid if we recover compensation for you. Visit our website or call 1-800-LAW-TALK.

For more information visit us at EBLegal.com


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search