California  |  Insurance Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 10/24/09, 3:45 pm

I lost my business Feb 16 2009 in a fire,my agent in oct 2008 came to my office we reviewed my policy.I didn't have general liability due to his error so he said he would add it to policy, next I was underinsured on my content or BPP I increased it from $116,000.00 to $250,000.00 said he would increase it, lastly I told him to add Loss Of Income coverage to my policy. We went over these points and he wrote these notes down in his notebook We were friends and trusted him and had faith these would be added he said no problem, well after the fire went to his office to review policy, only thing that was added was content $250,000.00 but not loss of income or general liability he said we didn't discuss these items AM I screwed or can i sue his E&O thankyou Robert


Experienced California Attorneys

At the Law Offices of Eslamboly & Barlavi we handle most types of Personal Injury Cases and Tort cases including: automobile, truck, motorcycle, pedestrian, bike, and slip and fall accidents, dog bites, wrongful death, legal malpractice, medical malpractice and products liability cases. We only get paid if we recover compensation for you. Visit our website or call 1-800-LAW-TALK.

For more information visit us at EBLegal.com

3 Answers


Answered on: 10/29/09, 3:54 pm by Steven Murray

Yes. See a lawyer who knows something about insurance law right away. You might also be able to hold the insurer liabie.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Steven W. Murray, APC 14930 Ventura Blvd., Ste. 205 Sherman Oaks, CA 91403

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 10/29/09, 10:25 pm by Armen Tashjian

While you explained fairly well the ommissions of your agent/broker, you did not mention whether or not the carrier took action against you. Were benefits denied or lost as a result? If so, more details are needed to ascertain whether or not there is actionable conduct. Also, when you made the policy changes did you not inspect the new revisions to see if you were being issued the proper policy? If not, why not?

If you need a consultation feel free to contact me.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of Armen M. Tashjian 6311 Wilshire Blvd., Second Floor Los Angeles, CA 90048

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 11/03/09, 2:07 pm by OCEAN BEACH ASSOCIATES

You may have a bad faith action. Your friend is denying the conversation? Contact me directly.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


OCEAN BEACH ASSOCIATES 2185 Sunset Cliffs Blvd. San Diego, CA 92107

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

81 Answers given in the last few hours.

86611 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search