California | Insurance Law
Legal Question
Parking Lot minor collision takes bad turn
In December, 2007, I was slowly backing out of a parking space after checking in my rear view mirror to be sure all was clear...it was, as I backed out there was a slight thud
a woman who had gotten into her car as I was backing apparently either staged an accident or didn't look. She jumped out of her car so fast and started yelling, ''it's your fault and don't you dare try to say it's mine.'' I told her to calm down or I will tell the insurance company it is her fault....she refused to reveal her insurance since she was so determined that it was my fault..I think it was hers but I was willing to compromise since we were both backing out although I was first and make it 50-50. The insurance companies agreed. Now, a year and a half later she is claiming extensive medical injuries, psychological and emotional distress and is suing me for punitive damages. My car didn't even have a scratch and hers had several all over with a bullet type dent in the door. She is also an attorneywho has changed law firms three times in the past year and a half. Can I demand for my insurance company to pay for cumis counsel to handle the punitive damages part of the suit?
Experienced California Attorneys
At the Law Offices of Eslamboly & Barlavi we handle most types of Personal Injury Cases and Tort cases including: automobile, truck, motorcycle, pedestrian, bike, and slip and fall accidents, dog bites, wrongful death, legal malpractice, medical malpractice and products liability cases. We only get paid if we recover compensation for you. Visit our website or call 1-800-LAW-TALK.


