California | Intellectual Property
Legal Question
If I blog for a print magazine's website, do they own my entries even though I'm not being paid by them? Could I re-use my entries to write a book? Is there a difference if I become their employee or if I'm a freelance writer?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Nancy Delain |
That's an excellent question to which the answer is "It depends." (Don't ya love lawyers?)
IF you have signed any sort of contract or other papers with the website, the magazine, the blog owner, or any other "party of interest," then you need to look for the words, "...work made for hire." If those words are there, then the magazine's blog owns the work regardless of whether or not they pay you. If those words are not there, then you own the work regardless of whether or not they pay you.
If you have not signed any sort of contract or other paper with the blog's owner then you own the writing you do on the blog.
THE INFORMATION PRESENTED HERE IS GENERAL IN NATURE AND IS NOT INTENDED, NOR SHOULD IT BE CONSTRUED, AS LEGAL ADVICE. THIS POSTING DOES NOT CREATE ANY ATTORNEY-CLIENT RELATIONSHIP BETWEEN US. FOR SPECIFIC ADVICE ABOUT YOUR PARTICULAR SITUATION, CONSULT YOUR ATTORNEY. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Bryan R. R. Whipple, Attorney at Law
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12213
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Donner & Donner
Westlake Village, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Law Offices of Ronald Glenn Mahurin
Belmont, CA
Questions Answered: 527
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
'Isi Mataele Attorney at Law
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 430
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-13
Knisbacher Law Offices
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 353
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-19
Internet Attorney
Aptos, CA
Questions Answered: 339
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-16
Search Questions and Answers


