California | Intellectual Property
Legal Question
If your business name is similar to one providing technically different services, will either name infringe on the other? For example let's say there is Shark Media and Shark Media Group, one provides web design and hosts online publications and the other does print publishing and advertisements. Would this be considered in the same industry in the eyes of trademark law? Technically, they are different. They are only similar based on media work. How do the courts determine what should be considered "the same industry"?


