California  |  Intellectual Property

question bubble
1/13/09, 4:12 pm

Legal Question


Cease and desist Chi Irons ebay

Very sorry for the re-post, but this site won't allow me to respond and there has been an update in the matter.

I bought some CHI Flat Irons from dhgate dot com, assuming they are the real deal. I sold them on eBay and now I received an email and a letter ( un-certified ) from a Jane Doe, Esq, of _Greenberg _Traaurig, saying that they are fake irons and I need to pay $23,000 in fees and they will go away.

Additionally, they state '' statutory damages of $1,000,000. Were we to litigate, we would pursue the maximum. However, my client has instructed me to offer to settle the matter for $23,000 payable immediately and in addition transfer all of your inventory''

I have no reason to think they are fakes, but if they are, 1. i would feel horrible.

2. Does an email from an attorney and an un-registered letter to my PO Box constitute anything?

Thank you in advance


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search