Re: ''challenging venue''
Depending on the facts of your case, you may be able to successfully challenge venue and/or jurisdiction, however, you must do so by timely appearing (even if specially appearing for the limited purpose of challenging venue and jursidiction) rather than ignoring the service of papers once you have become aware of the case.
In determining the issues of venue and jurisdiction in cases of infringement and unfair competition, the courts have looked not only to the State (or other Country, Province or local area) where the Defendant does business (and allegedly takes the infringing acts), but thay have also considered where the damage has occurred - (including States where the customers are being confused or misled, and/or where the Plaintiff is being harmed economically and/or by way of dilution to trademarks or other harm to celebrity status, goodwill, or reputation).
As this BBS is not a secure or appropriate place to make further specific recomendations and insamuch as we do not generally provide legal advice to parties other than our clients, we would invite you to call our offices at (949) 754-3048 or visit our websites: www.BrandXperts.com ; www.namesavers.net and/or www.copyrightpros.com for further information.
Anderson & Shippey
"Intellectual Property Solutions for the New Millennium" (Sm) - Offices in Irvine and San Francisco, California