California  |  Intellectual Property

question bubble
6/04/08, 4:18 pm

Legal Question


Collaboration agreement dispute

I am an author who hired a writer in 2005 to write a book proposal. I wrote the sample chapters and she wrote the propsal. She was paid 5000 for the proposal in 2005.

In 2008, my fiance-in an effort to support the completion of my book-signed a collaboration agreement that she-the cowriter-wrote to pay her 50,000 to help me write the book. He then signed a business agreement with me that would give him a portion of any book advance I received should the proposal sell as well as royalties.

The fiance broke up with me and has refused to pay the money he promised to pay. The co writer after doing a minimal amount of work-one month- refused to perform

and is now demanding that I pay her the entire 50,000. Again she has done almost no work on the book and is refusing to collaborate.

The CA has an arbritration clause. THE CA is signed by my former fiance, the co writer and me. Can she force me to enter arbritration without equally forcing my ex to do so. All three parties are on the contract and the ex was always expected to pay. He offered, he put up the money. Now she is going after me alone.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search