California  |  Intellectual Property

question bubble
1/01/06, 1:44 pm

Legal Question


Copyright Infring.? Users post pictures on website...

If I have a website that displays pictures that users upload and post, and I do not monitor these pictures, if one of the pictures breaks copyright infringement am I liable? Should I post an agreement telling people not to do so? If someone were to sue me because of a picture, would I in turn have to sue the poster?

Another alternative would be to have people provide links to pictures on other websites. If I then display the linked image on my website, and give a clear hyperlink as to where it's located on the web, is this legal? Again, would I have to post anything in a specific agreement?

I figure there are hundreds of forums that allow users to put images (from other sites) in their posts, and image searches such as Google Images display millions of images located on other websites...so it seems to be legal?

One other thing...Is anything absolutely off limits to be posted on the internet, such as a dead person or rape or whatever?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search