California  |  Intellectual Property

question bubble
5/24/08, 1:03 am

Legal Question


Credit for Creative Work Product

I was (stupidly) helping a friend with the his upcoming cd. Originally I did a rebranding of the logo and band artwork but ultimately we could not agree on the direction of the cd cover. When I was pulled off the project I told him that he was not to use any of my creative product as our original agreement was an ''all or nothing'' rebranding.

During the creative process I also reworked the cd title and the version that I came up with was used on the final project.

IMHO the effort I put into rework the title deserve some acknowledgment. I don't want royalties simple a ''and'' credit.

Since we had been originally working on a ''for credit'' agreement am I out of line thinking he should have created me for the title or not have used it when he kicked me off the project?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search