California | Intellectual Property
Legal Question
Can the employer force me to sign invention assignment after I have quit
I just quit my job. I worked as a Software Architect for the company. However, my employment with this company was on a contract basis. I was not a full time employee. I had not signed any invention assignment or confidentiality agreement when I came on board with this company. My separation from the company was not smooth and the employers did not want me to leave. They are trying every possible move to make me stay.
They are pressing me to sign an invention assignment and confidentiality agreement which may prevent me to work on various technologies etc. My question is can the company force me to sign this agreement after I have quit. They have been giving me lot of threats in trems of that this agreement is enforceable by law even after my separation with the company. I really do not want to sign this contract. Please let me know if I really have to sign it by law.
Thanks.


