California  |  Intellectual Property

Legal Question

Asked on: 5/19/12, 11:05 pm

I am a ghostwriter, and I have a client for whom I'm adapting their screenplay to novel format, and their contract has a very broad indemnity clause. His lawyer says that I'm only liable for what I wrote above the draft provided to me. But to me, the way it's worded, especially "...from and against any and all liability and costs, including, without limitation, reasonable attorneys’ fees, incurred by the Indemnified Parties in connection with any claim arising out of any breach of this agreement or the foregoing representations, warranties and covenants..." that it means ANY claim, even if it's frivolous, or there is question on whether it's the client's words or mine. Considering this is an adaptation, how could this be rewritten to protect me as well?

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

174 Answers given in the last few hours.

7528 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search