California  |  Intellectual Property

question bubble
8/29/05, 5:14 pm

Legal Question


Index Copyright

According to the U.S. Copyright Office website, ''Works consisting entirely of information that is common property and containing no original authorship (for example: standard calendars, height and weight charts, tape measures and rulers, and lists or tables taken from public documents or other common sources)'' are not copyrightable.

But, what if you created a unique index of facts? For example, if I collected the names and dates of marriage notices in a newspaper and put them in an index. The index seems to qualify as original but not the information. Is the index copyrightable?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search