California  |  Intellectual Property

question bubble
2/27/09, 4:04 pm

Legal Question


Infringement of copyright

I could not locate the exact category. Hope this is o.k.

An extremely popular publisher of many many books in a series obtained, without my permission, something I published in another magazine many years ago. When I found out about it I contacted them and after some back and forth settled for $3,000. with the understanding that my piece would not appear in any future publications. End of story. Or so I thought. A couple of weeks ago I was informed by a friend that that same piece of writing is appearing in one of their new publications under the heading of ''100 Best...''. I contacted them again and was assured I would be compensated. I asked for the same amount again plus $500.00 for the taxes that threw me into a higher bracket.

Since then I have not heard from them and a second email brought no response. One of the most important aspects of the initial event was that I do not appear in their publications since I don't respect them. This was very important to me and it is important to me still--more so!

What can I do? I am retired and have limited finances so hiring expensive legal aid is out of the question.

I appreciate your response.

--name removed--Wiegand


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search