California  |  Intellectual Property

question bubble
12/17/04, 11:54 pm

Legal Question


Internet Search Engine - Unique Search Criteria

I am building search portal for a particular industry, and I would like to protect a unique combination of search criteria. I would also like to productize or label this particular combination (if this would provide more leverage for protection).

Use Case:

I would like to protect the combination of search elements

{A,B,C,D,E} - - but also allow searches using additional elements F,G,H.

Today elements {A,B,C,D,E} are not used by anyone, but elements F,G,H are.

If I wrapped {A,B,C,D,E} as a unique product, such as: ''Tony's Search Product'', could this be protected?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search