California  |  Intellectual Property

question bubble
1/21/09, 8:30 pm

Legal Question


Ownership rights

A dance studio has a performance at the end of the year. The teacher choreographed the dance thus has the rights to the choreography. She asked the show to be videotaped and had the DVD made. The videographer taped the show (panned and zoomed as he sees fit), edited, and created the DVDs with menus and chapter selections like a movie. The teacher now claims that she also owns the rights to the DVD since the choreography is hers. However, the videographer's art work (the way the show was taped and edited, cut and sliced, etc.) should be his. She wants to make copies of the DVD and sells it herself, pocketing the proceeds. Who has the rights to the DVD? A similar question is when you go to a studio to have your portrait taken, who has the rights to the film and picture? The photographer or the person in the picture?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search