California  |  Intellectual Property

question bubble
12/22/04, 11:47 pm

Legal Question


Can I Patent a Video Game Idea? How?

I have a video game idea that I would like to patent.

Unfortunately, I am completely ignorant on how intellectual property works and I am not even sure ''patent'' is the correct term.

My video game idea is specific, to the point of specific characters, level design, etc. and I want to protect it, because as a game designer, I believe it is very good.

Additionally, I am currently employed at a game company as a game designer, but I have used no game company resources to work on the idea, not even a word processor.

I would sincerely appreciate any help regarding where I should start. I found the US Patent Office site, but lordie there is a lot of stuff there. Thx.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search