California  |  Intellectual Property

question bubble
4/28/09, 4:52 am

Legal Question


How can I prove authorship of content on a self-owned website?

I'm looking to publish original articles online. I own the domain name of the website I'm using, but I'm renting server space from a hosting company.

I'm concerned about proving authorship in case someone decides to steal my work and post it on a more popular website. It seems to me that the thief could just as easily accuse me of stealing. Webmasters have the power to modify their sites at any time, and they can label their articles with fake posting dates. Given those facts, I don't see how I could leave any concrete evidence of authorship when I self-publish articles online. Am I wrong about this?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search