California  |  Intellectual Property

question bubble
7/13/10, 4:58 pm

Legal Question


I am starting a small business but have not yet incorporated. I want to register a trademark for the business name as it is available but I eventually want the business to own the mark. I have heard there may be liability issues if the company is sued in the future and the trademark was originally registered by an individual (I.e., the individual may also be sued personally along with the corporation) even if ownership of the trademark is transferred to the business. Is advisable to initially own the trademark as an individual?

Thank you.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search