California  |  Intellectual Property

question bubble
11/07/05, 1:06 pm

Legal Question


Taped phone call w/no consent now being sold

I had a phone conversation with someone claiming to be an attorney whom I met online. I do not believe he is an attorney. Additionally, he is now harassing me by selling the taped conversation online. I am a minor celebrity. The conversation is personal. I did not know I was being taped.

I do believe I know his correct name and state.

I also have his ip address and email address and phone #.

What is my quickest, best recourse? He's selling it somewhere online but I am not certain where exactly, or I would contact the site.

Also, what can I do to avoid the future sale of this tape? I am pretty sure it is illegal since I was in no way notified it was being taped and also, he told me he was a lawyer (which he may or may not be, I suspect not) to get my to disclose said personal information.

Thank you for your advice, greatly.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search