California | Intellectual Property
Legal Question
Trademark using everyday terms/words?
A magazine called ''Homes&Land'' is circulated nationally, including within CA as well as online. The ''Homes&Land'' logo bears the circled ''R'' next to the text/logo. My company (real estate firm)doing business in CA, is called ''JaneDoe Homes & Land''. Is my company infringing on the trademark/name of ''Homes&Land'' magazine or Homesandland.com? Homes & Land Publishing Corp. owns the trademark and the Goods and Services description registered w/ the trademark office is as follows-DISSEMINATION OF ADVERTISING FOR REAL ESTATE AGENCIES, REAL ESTATE AGENCY SERVICES, APARTMENT RENTAL SERVICES, RELOCATION SERVICES, MOVING SERVICES AND OTHER BUSINESS SERVICES VIA--name removed--SERIES OF REAL ESTATE MAGAZINES, DIRECT MAIL, TELEMARKETING AND--name removed--GLOBAL COMMUNICATION NETWORK, PROVIDING INFORMATIONAL ON LOCAL BUSINESSES AND VENDORS VIA THE INTERNET, PERSONAL AND BUSINESS RELOCATION SERVICES. FIRST USE: 20010315. FIRST USE IN COMMERCE: 20010315. Can I legally call my company ''JaneDoe Homes & Land''?


