California  |  Intellectual Property

question bubble
6/06/06, 4:57 pm

Legal Question


Writing book in industry of current employer

I work for a major search marketing company (you'd know the name). I'm thinking about writing a book and maybe doing seminars on search marketing. I'm wondering about the legalities involved. Am I allowed to use the name of my current employer to market my book and seminar? (Something like: ''Current (company name) insider'') Or would I have to market myself as ''currently working for major company...'' Regarding the book and seminars, I, of course, wouldn't include any trade secrets or anything - just general techniques and tips that I've learned from being in the industry. Could I be sued? Fired? Thanks for any direction.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search