California  |  Intellectual Property

question bubble
10/21/09, 1:29 pm

Legal Question


I am writing a musical comedy and have composed "lyric words and emotional sentiments" for proposed songs and music style. intend to hireI a professional to complete finished lyrics and the musical composition. I intend to pay him for each in total for each such lyric/song project to completion. It is my understanding that in that situation, I am the "employer" and he the "employee" and that all copyright ownership would be mine, and all related potential royalties.

Question: Is that correct?

Question: what type of documentation do I need?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search