California | Intellectual Property
Legal Question
I have written the sequel to E.T.: The Extra-Terrestrial on spec. Can I copyright my original ideas and story? How do I copyright/protect my work?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Keith E. Cooper |
If your story is based on the original movie, it would probably be considered a derivative work and you need permission to do that. And, the character ET (as well as some of the other characters and images in the film) are trademarks that you would not be free to use in the resulting motion picture without proper permission.
That said, any new material you add may be copyrighted in your name and you would fill out the proper copyright form and register it. Read the instructions for the form carefully to make sure you refer to your contribution correctly. More information is available on the copyright website.
You must realize that this will be a tough sell, even if you copyright your work. No producer is going to risk a lawsuit from someone with deep pockets.
Apart from the legalities, keep in mind that ET came out nearly 30 years ago--there is a reason that no sequel has been done, and it may have nothing to do with rights. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Bryan R. R. Whipple, Attorney at Law
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12213
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Donner & Donner
Westlake Village, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Law Offices of Ronald Glenn Mahurin
Belmont, CA
Questions Answered: 527
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
'Isi Mataele Attorney at Law
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 430
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-13
Knisbacher Law Offices
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 353
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-19
Internet Attorney
Aptos, CA
Questions Answered: 339
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-16
Search Questions and Answers


