California | Investment Law
10/18/09, 3:25 pm
Legal Question
Is it legal for my company to stop putting money in my 401-k
Is it legal for my company to stop putting money in my 401-k
|
Read More Answered By: Bryan Whipple |
The answer is a definite maybe. Not all 401(k) plans are created equal, and in order to figure out whether a particular company's action in ceasing to make contributions was in violation of a contract with the employee, or more likely in violation of an Internal Revenue Code requirement, would take some study of the plan, the pattern of participation, the timing and circumstances of the company's action, and probably some other factors. As a general rule, a company is not obliged to continue its 401(k) plan for all eternity, but neither can it ordinarily just stop paying into it without jumping through hoops regarding notice period, timing, and more. A starting point for an affected employee would be to read the plan information given out by the company in the past. |
|
Read More Answered By: Terry A. Nelson |
The company has the right to change, stop or start different benefit plans, by following the required notice rules. They can't do anything retroactive though. |
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12211
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10412
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Mountain View, CA
Questions Answered: 2147
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-01-31
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 291
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Long Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 250
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-24
La Jolla, CA
Questions Answered: 147
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Tustin, CA
Questions Answered: 89
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-02-11
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Questions Answered: 50
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-09-11
► About three years ago, I have given a financial advisor with Ameriprise, $100,000....
► I want to invest personal and family members money in the stock market. What are the...
► Last May 1, 2008, I invested money with my "then" money manager who is...
► Car ownership dispute My fiance who I've been with 9+ yrs., engaged to since 2/2005...
► Elder stock fraud I found out recently that my father has lost a great deal of money...
► Investment Invested 25000 in a company in Nov of 2004- promised double on my...
► Contract by a non-licensed business in CA Hi. We are being sued by a flooring...
More Investment Law questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press