California  |  Investment Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 5/18/13, 5:27 pm

can a major company like AAA sue me for starting a business similar to theirs?

3 Answers


Answered on: 5/18/13, 5:32 pm by Andrew Harrell

Possibly, they can sue you if you worked for them before and you entered into a non-compete clause. These clauses have to limited, however, in terms of how long you agree not to compete and in what geographical areas. They cannot be too broad. They can also sue you if there is a trademark confusion issue, e.g., you start a business under a similar name that might confuse the consumer.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


W. Andrew Harrell, Attorney at Law 250 Pacific Ave., Suite 407 Long Beach, CA 90802

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 5/18/13, 11:13 pm by Charles Perry

A potential competitor cannot successfully sue you simply because you enter into competition with them.

Other facts plus competition, however, may give rise to a right to sue. These include the theft of trade secrets and customer lists, the infringement on trademarks and other intellectual property, and the theft of employees are some common grounds.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of Charles R. Perry 1500 Bayberry Street Hollister, 95023

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 5/23/13, 4:03 pm by Bryan Whipple

I would tend to agree with Mr. Perry's answer.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Bryan R. R. Whipple, Attorney at Law P O Box 318 Tomales, CA 94971-0318

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

209 Answers given in the last few hours.

8662 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search