California | Investment Law
Legal Question
My mother has stock certificates Bell South, Lucent Technologies, Southwestern Bell Corp., SBC Communications, Nynex Corp., US West, Inc., Bell South Corp., Bell Atlantic Corp., and a couple of other companies, they are valued at around $4000.00. The problem is; they are in my fathers name and he died in 2001. We went to our local bank (Chase) and they need a "Court Appointment Of Executor of my Father" and a California Inheritance Tax Waiver. Is there any way of transferring these stocks into my mothers name, without have to go to Probate Court and go before a judge? My mother is 89 years old, suffering with Demthia, I do have POA both financial and medical. Who can help me get this done?


