California  |  Employment Law

question bubble
11/05/09, 8:33 am

Legal Question


Can you help answer this question or advise where I can get answers?

The Plant I work at is closing in one week. All the employees were offered a severance package with a stipulation that we don't get a job with the company that has bought our company.

They are having an open house with the new company ,which we will be able to go and apply for a new position. This is not a transfer we will not retain senioirty, benefits or our wages. If we get one of these jobs we do not qualify for the severance package.

If we go out and get another job with any other company we do qualify for the severance. Is it legal to withhold a severance package depending on where an employee finds employment?

Susan


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search