California | Employment Law
Legal Question
Breach of contract?
I was one of three banquets supervisors to be hired initialy all working under the banquets manager. My wages were mostly based on percentages of revenue in my department. From the begining they have refused to show me the accounting for my wages. After my first month my wages were less than I knew they should be. I decided to find these revenue reports. I did late one night after everyone was gone. I found and made copys of these for myself. The papers show all the revenue and the percentages being payed to various people, myself included. It shows clearly that they changed how I was being payed and not for the better. I have determined that over the last 6months I have been shorted over $15,000 dollars. They have insisted that I was being payed correctly in the past when I told them the numbers did not seem rite. When I asked to see the accounting they told me that it was against company policy.Now that I have the proof I dont know what to do? I basicly stole it. Can an employer keep revenue reports a secret when most of your wages are based on them? Can they lower your wages without telling you? I cant confront them with my stolen evidence can I? What are my rights?


