California  |  Employment Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 2/01/12, 8:43 am

My Dad was at his company for about 11 years, from what I've been told he had 1 accident recently were he damaged some product so he was suspended for 5 days when he came back he was offered to be laid off or fired. He was 60 years old and woried about being able to find another job so he chose to be laid off to qualify for unemployment benefits. He went back to pick up his last check a couple business days later and within a few hours had a heart attack and passed away. We feel he was fired because of his age. I was hoping to get a lawyers opinion.

1 Answer


Answered on: 2/01/12, 9:22 am by Michael Kirschbaum

I am so sorry to hear about what happened to your dad. That is tragic.

There is no way to know whether the employer fired your dad because of his age because we do not know the facts. It certainly is possible. But with your dad gone, there is no case. Damages for loss of wages, emotional distress, etc. would not be available to you.

I do not know if the family can file a claim for death benefits under workers compensation law. You might want to contact a workers comp attorney for an opinion in that regard.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of Michael R. Kirschbaum 2 Park Plaza, Suite 650 Irvine, CA 92614

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

141 Answers given in the last few hours.

7513 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search