California  |  Employment Law

question bubble
3/24/06, 6:40 pm

Legal Question


Discrimination Female and reverse Age discrimination

I have been terminated from a company after close to 15 years of employment. I am 47, unmarried and a single Mom. Through the course of my employment I have been counseled on several occassions about excessive absences-Included in the excessive absences were instances that I had to take off for my school age childrens illness, school etc.etc. I had been threatened with demotion or termination. Once the kids were on their own, I had to stay home with my Dad on several occassions. Both of these types of absences are protected by the labor code in Ca, yet they were incl in my overall absences and I was terminated.

This company has terminated 3 other over 40 females in the last 5 years and replaced them with Men counterparts. One coworker who is a female over 40 was not promoted before her male counterpart even though she had worked there longer and had a bigger work load, until she threatened to accept another position.

In their employee handbook they have a policy of hiring within whenever possible. CEO put his 28 yr old female friend in a Mgmt position without advertising it Co wide. She had no exp, several Sr. Empl have yrs of exp better qualified and would have applied.

What steps should I take?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search