California  |  Employment Law

question bubble
7/02/09, 9:39 pm

Legal Question


Employer breaking labor laws?

I currently work 8 hours a day/5 days a week for a telephone answering service that gives us three 10 minute breaks. We do get paid for these breaks, but we are not allowed a 30 minute break. I feel this is not an adequate amount of time to rest and clear you head before going back to work. I take about 3,000 calls every two weeks and I feel as though my employer is breaking a labor law. However, I do believe I was given a paper to sign before I was employed that basically stated I agreed to waive my right to a 30 minute break the entire time I am employed there. Is my boss able to do this, and is there anything that I can do about it? Or am I out of luck because I signed that paper?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search