California  |  Employment Law

question bubble
4/12/98, 1:15 am

Legal Question


Ex-Employer Refuses Access to Personnel File

I know California Labor Law says an employee must be allowed access to his own personnel file. (Sec. 1198.5) But it does not say anything about an EX-employee.

My ex-employer, whom I left in good graces with plenty of notice, is refusing me access to my personnel file. The letter they sent to me says the file is company property and since I no longer work there, I do not have access to that file.

Can they legally do this? Is there any way I can force them to open my file to me? The Labor Board has done nothing on a complaint I filed last December.

Is there anything a lawyer can do for me?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search