California  |  Employment Law

question bubble
8/21/09, 2:55 pm

Legal Question


I am an exempt employee working in California who falls under the Professional Exemption for the Federal Government Overtime Rules Under Fair Labor Standards Act. I was recently told by my boss that he wants me to work 16 hour days, 6 to 6 1/2 days a week. That equates to 96 to 104 hour work weeks, and gives me less than 8 hours a day for sleep. In addition, this is not if there is work to do, this is even if there is no work to do, to just be in the office. I know I'm an exempt employee, but that just seems excessive, and I don't want to go to HR unless I have some type of law or at least guideline supporting my grievance.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search