California | Employment Law
Legal Question
Fired While Pregnant On Short Term Disabilty After Car Wreck?
Hello there.
Yesterday I found out I was fired from my job after taking a doctor initiated disability leave after getting in a car accident that caused me to have a placental abrupture ( I am seven months pregnant). I was specifically instructed not to return to work until my doctor thought fit.
When my boss found out, she had no problems with it and gave me the simple instructions to just present her with a doctors note when I am able to come back to work. I gave her the doctors note four days before I was actually allowed to return to work. I call the day before I am supposed to return to work to touch base with her and she tells me that my job has been terminated because she decided to keep the people hired to temporarily take my spot instead of letting me come back to work.
If it makes a difference as far as laws go, I live in California.
What should I do? Everybody has told me that I should just go to the labor board. I am so lost. If anybody could give me some advice, I would be extremely grateful.
Thank you so much!


