California | Employment Law
Legal Question
can I be fired from my primary "daytime job" full time employment from an injury sustained at my second job "night job"
can I claim workmans comp?
can I collect unemployment from losing primary job because of missing work from injury?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Arkady Itkin |
Generally, it's unlawful to terminate an employee because of his disability or serious medical condition for most qualifying employers, regardless of where and how you are injured as that would be disability discrimination, among other violations.
You can file a claim for workers comp with the employer where you got injured, but if they don't have workers comp insurance coverage, you won't be able to get the workers comp benefits, but you might have an option to bring a claim against the subject employer for your injuries in negligence (as you would in a typical car accident).
You can collect either unemployment or disability benefits if you are unable to work because of your injury. You should consult with your local EDD (employment development department) to find out more details.
Thanks, and feel free to follow up.
Arkady Itkin |
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Offices of Michael R. Kirschbaum
Irvine, CA
Questions Answered: 2061
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
LAW OFFICES OF ARMAN MOHEBAN
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 1289
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Donald R. Holben & Associates, APC
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 983
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-04-19
Pavone & Cohen
Encino, CA
Questions Answered: 613
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-03-07
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Law Office of Joseph La Costa
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 538
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-12
Search Questions and Answers


